top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureZack Pounders

A Whole New Movie...A New Fantastic Version!

27 YEARS AND ITS BACK! Yes, the new Aladdin movie is out, and it is fantastic. I really enjoyed the entire movie. The music was the best part as they took the songs from near thirty years ago and gave them a new spin. The actors were all impressive. The one thing this movie will be marked by is Will Smith as the Genie. I have seen the live action version and the Broadway version recently. I have not seen the original in a long time.


I will start by addressing the music for this movie. The best overall song in the movie is "A Whole New World." I love how they took a classic song and really took their time with the setup to it. The visuals during this song are amazing. The most disappointing song was "Arabian Nights." I understand that this is the opening number for the movie, but the animated movie version was a lot better. The main reason is the visuals.


The actors were very strong and impressive. I love how Disney went with a legit casting call for this movie and did not grab big names from Hollywood (except for Will Smith). Naomi Scott and Will Smith were exceptional in their roles as Jasmine and Genie respectively. Will Smith absolutely crushed his role, but I am let down by the lack of pop culture references and how he was straight to the point most of the time.


Overall, I will say this is a strong start to what it going to be a great summer for Disney films. Toy Story 4 and The Lion King (live-action) will follow this in June and July. I would love to see a sequel to this, but the direction would be interesting. I will give this film a rating of 9 out of 10. The one thing I wanted was pop culture references by Will Smith. I especially wanted to see a Fresh Prince reference and it was not there. Other than that, go see this movie it is worth every penny. Until then this is Zack Pounders saying, Have a great rest of your day and SEE YA! Real Soon.


Follow on twitter/instagram @dispnofficial

21 views0 comments
bottom of page